There’s no place like GO for the holidays….

“Ladies and gentlemen, just a friendly reminder that tomorrow will we be operating on our holiday schedule service…”

I mull this over.

I look around and realize I’m the only one in this cabin.

The announcer failed to address me directly, by my formal name “Excuse me, Your Excellency….may I please speak in your presence?”

Strike One.

I guess we’ll let it pass.

That wouldn’t fit on a business card, anyway.

He said “friendly” reminder. I didn’t get the impression we were friends.

I wasn’t greeted with the level of adoration one comes to expect as self-proclaimed Commuting royalty.

Strike Two.

In case you’re wondering; “does she pick apart everything I say to her??!!”

Yes I do. But at least it’s not published.

And please stop addressing royalty in the third person. It makes me feel pedestrian.

“Holiday Schedule Service”

Ah, tomorrow is Canada Day! That explains the empty train.

Or maybe people have quit their jobs until  scheduling is rectified.

Holiday…

Makes me think of this song;

There’s no place like home for the holidays,                                                                                                        ’cause no matter how far away you roam,                                                                                                                when you pine for the sunshine of a friendly gaze, for the holidays,                                                                you can’t beat home sweet home!

When Perry Como belted out those lyrics (I’m not that old of a soul, I had to google this) bet he never suspected that someone aboard the HDC (Hot Dog Corporation for those who read my other posts) Express would use these innocent words to produce satire about modern transit.

If you substitute “home” for “GO”, it really works.

For the song.

There’s nothing holiday- about transit.

When I think of the holidays, I think of family, laughter and food.

When I think of commuting, I think of strangers, strife and famine.

Strike Three! I’m out!

Time to switch trains at the Cornucopia.

I digress.

Dare I look on the website and see what “holiday service” entails?
Less trains. And buses. Same amenities.

I look outside my new (to me) train  window and make a discovery.

Oakville has reminded me of something else these past few days….what was it?

Ah! A mall parking lot in December!

Maybe there are correlations to be made after all.

Maybe commuting can be holiday like.

I mull this over.

Train travel is like spending holiday time with the in-laws.

Everyone is polite, it feels sterile, and in the end you can’t wait to get the hell out of there.

You pretend that it’s ok, that you’re going make it, but the time spent together eats away at your soul.

I hope the train doesn’t have feelings.

To my fellow commuters; if you happen to be utilizing the holiday service tomorrow, I wish you a safe and speedy commute!

Suckers.

I just remembered I’ll be in town for the Jays game late tonight.

Yeah, there’s a sucker born every minute.

Happy Canada Day!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

