The Beautiful Mind of a 4 year old

This post was originally published in 2009. It came up on my Facebook newsfeed, so I thought I’d share. It’s not about commuting, but still poignant! Lol. 

Tonight, me and my 4 year old Nephew Gianni were hanging out in my backyard. We just ate a big family meal (barbecue pork chops, ribs, chicken, sausages, potato salad, rice, swiss chard and strawberries with whipped cream for dessert…just your average italian dinner.

Afterwards, Gianni asked me those 4 words that I can never refuse;

“Eedia, play with me.”

Visions of running around and subsequently having a stroke made me think of a better idea.

I suggested we lay on the lawn and stare at the clouds, something I think everyone should do more often.

So, there we were, watching the clouds swim by.

It was quite peaceful and relaxing…you don’t get that kind of quality quiet time with a 4 year old that often.

Gianni saw a dragon, a candy store, his mommy, (which I think bore a striking resemblance to the dragon, but I digress) then he asked me what did I see when I looked at the clouds?

I thought about it, and told him, whenever I look at the clouds, I often think of heaven and God.

Gianni asked; “Who is God?” What a loaded question! I thought about it.

I told him God was responsible for the creation of all things.

He was responsible for things like the sky, the mountains and even people like me and my nephew, and he loves all these things unconditionally.

Gianni pondered this response and we sat there in silence for what seemed like a long time.

I thought he really wasn’t paying any attention to what I said.

Just when I was about to suggest doing something else, my nephew looked over at me and said;

“You know what Eedia? God sounds like a really cool guy.”

Agreed!

269941_10150727965515595_7419995_n

4 thoughts on “The Beautiful Mind of a 4 year old

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

