Today I’m reminded through Facebook that its of my one year workaversary.

One year ago, my soon to be Supervisor called and offered me the job.

I was thrilled!

I was ecstatic!

I was relieved!

I said “cool.”

Lidz, did you really say that? 

Yes I did.

It was quite the eloquent reaction for such a seasoned Career Development Practitioner.

Not quite the wording I preach when I advise, teach or facilitate workshops, but I managed to recover nicely from that.

Maybe I was in shock.

Maybe I thought it was a joke.

I don’t know.

I do know that things happen for a reason and here is where I need to be.

I mean there.

I’m taking the westbound train home as I write this blog.

I can’t believe it’s been almost one year since I started my job in the big city!

All I knew about this school was that it owned my alma mater when it came to every single varsity sport.

Makes me smile a little bit.

Especially when you see the legions of championship banners adorning the gymnasium’s walls.

Ok. I smile. A lot.

If you were to tell me a couple of years ago, that my work commute would consist of 4 trains, 3 car rides and one streetcar, I would have thought you were insane.

I used to work a few short minutes from where I lived.

Quite literally up the road from the place.

Same side of the street too.

Commuting is now a tad more involved.

I enjoy it a lot.

Commuting relaxes me.

As the evenings get darker and colder, I remind myself that I’ve already been through a winter commute.

It’s not as bad as everyone thinks.

Especially when you like where you’re going to.

I revel in this astute observation.

Sometimes I think I’m an old soul.

That I’m wise beyond my years.

Sometimes I’m as mature as a child.

I’d like to think my personality changes about as much as the weather.

Pun intended.

This afternoon, as I enter the train station, I notice the following sign:


Stop commuting. Take control of your career.
What an asinine thing to promote at a train station.

Don’t the majority of people enjoy commuting?

Without giving much thought to the actual context of this poster, I make some asinine observations of my own.

Who is this guy?

Why is he judging me?

Does he work from home? Why then is he still wearing a suit?

What kind of name is Edward Jones?

Why does he have two names?

Can’t he just pick one?

Stupid.

How can he possibly be smiling?

Are there invisible hot dogs and tacos?

How rude.

This sign is judgy mcjudger.

Pfft.

I mull this over.

If I didn’t commute, I wouldn’t have much of a career.

Commuting has provided me with a new world of professional opportunity.

It took me out of a smaller market and into lands of greater professional opportunity.

I look forward to the day when they offer me free hot dogs and tacos on the train.

That would be cool too.

🙂

Leave a Reply

