Yesterday, a series of events had me heading home from the Toronto GO Bus Terminal, across the street from Union Station.

It was a lovely evening, as I experienced first additions of many things.

Last night, I forayed into the Toronto Christmas Market, which is quite charming in spite of its legions of visitors.

I also walked through my first official snowfall of the season.

Regardless about how one feels about winter, there’s something magical when snow makes its inaudible presence known on the roads, vehicles and streetlights.

Snowfall is a gentle reminder that the Canadian winter wardrobe is now needed.

Good thing I found a pair of boots I never brought home from work last year.

Snowfall also reminds me of my all time favourite Christmas song, A Marshmallow World, as originally composed by Michael Bublé.

While that remains untrue (the man has invented many things that for the sake of brevity cannot be added to this post) I will share a truth; A Marshmallow World, the Dean Martin version brings me an insatiable sense of comfort and joy. Pun intended.

I can listen to it on loop and never tire of it.

Whenever snow begins to land, its the song lodged in my head.

One of the many joys of my life happened 3 years ago.

I was watching a crooners impersonator show in Las Vegas and Dean Martin performed this song as the opening act.

As the story goes, my mom said the look of sheer happiness and sparkle in my eye was priceless and one she would never forget.

It was a moment I would never forget.

I suspect I was sporting a similar, stupid grin when I was lined up to board this:


A double decker GO bus!

Much like kindness and Africa, I have heard such things exist but have never actually experienced them.

A lady lined up in front of me turns to ask;

“Are we going to get to ride THAT?!”

Typically, I would have had three snarky comments ready, but I don’t think I managed a response.

So shiny.

Pretty.

Assuming.

Understated elegance, just like my wit.

This is what I’ve been waiting for.

Finally, a mode of public transportation that equates to my level of sophistication.

That’s worthy of my blog.

I feel all is well with the universe.

I need to mention that the Milton bus mistakenly pulled into this stop 5 minutes prior, because the Hamilton bus platform and Milton platform are now located next to one another.

Ha.

Back to the vehicle worthy of being called a big green chariot, I was thrilled to start this adventure.

A whole new world of public transit possibilities.

Maybe they even have cooked to order hot dogs and tacos!

I have all these pre-conceived notions as I’m about to board.

I’m inside the new bus.

It smells like Canadian Tire.

A little pungent, but whatever.

I go to tap my Presto card.

It doesn’t register.

I tap twice.

Nothing.

Third time and it works.

A little annoying, but whatever.

I want to ride on the upper level!

I know that’s going to be amazing.

I make my way to the top and realize the ceiling is very low.

I tell myself it’s charming and not claustrophobic, but whatever.

I’m going to ride in the front row!

Like my very own balcony view of things at the orchestra.

I take the window seat for my panoramic penthouse view.

Someone asks if the seat is taken beside me.

It’s not.

She fits herself and all her parcels in whatever might have been leg room.

There’s not much leg room at all, about half as much as I’m used to.

I tell myself it’s less than an hour trip, so whatever.

There’s a counter directly in front of me to place things, but it’s filled with empty cans of pop and tall boys.

Slightly dirty, but whatever.

The girl’s friends sit behind us, and they proceed to have lively conversation reminiscent of an Asian game show.

Lots of shrieking, lots of animation, nothing I could understand.

Not as peaceful as the snowfall, but whatever.

The bus leaves the terminal.

At this point I’m feeling a bit dejected.

Armed with internal optimism, hope and an active imagination, sometimes I have notions of how things should end up and they deviate from reality, which can be disappointing.

Accept things as they are.

It’s been a life long lesson for me.

I mull this over.

As I succumb to my fate, of a cash cab ride back to Hamilton, something unexpected happens.

The gameshow contestants have finally medicated and everyone decides to sleep.

I have the serenity of the front bus to myself  now as the snow falls majestically on the highway.

I play my favourite Christmas song, and the snow drifts effortlessly, almost like a lyrical dance.

The good thing about having optimism and hope; negativity has no place in this mindset.

I smile.

This is exactly how I wanted to experience my first snowfall.

Marshmallow world indeed.

🙂

Leave a Reply

