This morning, as I sit inside my new favourite seat aboard my big green chariot, I reflect on the events that transpired while commuting home last night.

I get to the GO station, the Long Branch ranch, and realize there’s a delay with the train heading toward home.

Trains can become real primadonnas once the weather turns wintery.

I look up, way up, to see the digital schedule and it says this:

Door problem.

Grr.

I’m half annoyed, half amused.

I wonder if the person who took the time to decorate around the screen wondered why it wasn’t at a height conducive for legibility by human beings.

I’m pleased the birds have a better view.

I make a note to ask the pigeons about train schedules next time they follow me back at the Hamilton station.

Yesterday started off on the wrong foot so why not be consistent?

I was in the kind of mood where you just want to stay home, curl up with blankets and watch Christmas movies.

Maybe eat a Bon Bon or ten.

Door problem.

Two words…seemingly innocent yet a catalyst for many things.

I mull this over.

I wonder if I could call in to work and say I couldn’t make it in because of a door problem.

Would that work?

It sounds so stupid it must be true.

Door problem.

Is this some type of metaphor?

I got 99 problems but a door ain’t one of them.

I smirk.

Once the train arrives, I realize it wasn’t a metaphor at all:


That is a bonafide door problem.

The good news is that the danger sign becomes irrelevant.

I can’t tell you the amount of people I’ve caught leaning on the doors of a locomotive.

Because no one does that.

As I find my seat, I think about that expression;

when one door closes, another one opens”

I’m not sure who can take initial credit for this expression, but I suspect it might have been penned by Michael Bublé.

I smile.

As I’m looking to pass time, I decide to conduct a search of  door quotes and critique them.

Three of my favourite activities, all in one caution taped blog post.


The above quote is reflective.

I agree.

Staring at a closed door is kinda stupid.

Unless there’s the pretence of free hot dogs or tacos.

Also, the irony of this quote is not wasted on me.

Anyone who has ever waited to speak to an operator from Bell Canada would appreciate this.


This above quote is a decent life lesson.

I agree.

Sometimes, the door you came from isn’t worth a second glance.

However, in the case of this photo, if I had to choose between being locked out of what looks like a homely space, or entering an “abandoned” storage shed in the woods, I’d rather be locked out.


The above quote is inspiring.

I somewhat agree.

Reserved for the special people in your life that can never make plans, or decide on what to eat at a restaurant.

Why not give them more doors, er, options?

Your irritability might increase.


The above quote is a raw truth.

I agree.

Getting out of or away from certain doors can improve your well being.

Especially if the door resembles the sketchy image on sign #2.


The above quote is something I would do.

Even if you don’t know what kind of door is in place, it’s always best to keep people on their toes.

Assert your authority, even if you have none.

You might not get anywhere, but no one will ask you for any favours, either.

I think this quote is my favourite one of all:

This quote represent things I pride myself on.

As a self-proclaimed MacGyver, I’m both resourceful and pragmatic.

I’m mildy annoyed I have yet to coin a book deal from this kind of practicality.

If your door, any door closes, and it means something to you, reopen it by any means possible.

Good words to live by.

However, if you’re on a train, and the door remains closed; find another door immediately.

Punctuality beats creative problem solving every working day of the week.

🙂

Leave a Reply

