I started my blog this morning prior to the train’s departure but became distracted when the emergency stop message came on when my big green chariot was fully parked at the Hamilton station.

Yes that actually happened.

Hooray for automation and virtual reality!

That, coupled by the fact I have a head cold has made the day appear like one big dream sequence.

If I’ve conversed with you and seemed like my head was in the clouds, it likely was.

I won’t apologize for it.

You should be emotionally aware and try not to converse with someone in my state.

I digress.

This blog will have no time sequence, but bear with it…

We’re working in abstract patches here, people!

I will start this blog in an illogical way.

In the middle.

This afternoon, the death toll of 4pm otherwise know as exit stage Lidz couldn’t come soon enough.

I want to say that I’m typically not one of those people who begrudgingly commutes to a hated job, it’s just more of a challenge when you head is playing the bongos.

I make my way to the station without my ride (selfish) like a plebeian, and run into the only other commuter I converse with.

No, not the pigeons.

It’s UPS lady.

Converse is a loose reference, as we will do the head nod, grunt, and make other inaudible gestures of camaraderie toward each other.

Today for some reason, words come out of my mouth.

I told you things weren’t making much sense.

“Hey! Nice weather we’re having!”

Oh My God.

Who is this Talkie Mctalkerson and what have they done to our beloved Lidia.

“It’s beautiful! I can get used to it!”

UPS lady also looks startled that words came out of her mouth.

We banter for a while then realize neither of us are small talk type of people and the conversation ends.

The last few minutes of our time is spent in glorious silence.

Like I said, it’s been an odd duck type of day.

Rewinding back to this morning, I wake up with yet another song stuck in my head.

Once upon a time, in a land not far from here, there existed an original Mickey Mouse Club member whose real claim to fame occurred during adolescence, once the Mickey ears were shed for a more scantily clad wardrobe.

The mouse I speak of?

Christina Aguilera?

Nope.

Justin Timberlake?

Also fits but no.

Ryan Gosling?

Close!

Given this group of A-listers, the rodent who has left the proverbial rat race could only be Britney Spears.

As far as Mousketeers go, all of these celebrities have had monumental success.
Christina Aguilera could quite possibly kill someone with the sheer power and vocal range of her voice.

Justin Timberlake survived the transition from being a mouse to being in a boy band to becoming a solo artist.

Ryan Gosling was a moderately cute Mouseketeer who burst out of his cocoon to become pretty.

And then, there was Britney.

Now there’s a real talent.

I just realize her initials spell BS.

Fun.

Popular during my high school days, Britney’s claim to fame involved prancing around in white trash school girl clothing with such prolific hits as Baby One More Time, Lucky, Sometimes and You Drive Me Crazy.

What they lacked in depth and complexity they made up for in catchiness.

The song saturated into my brain today was the popular, Oops I did it again.

Here’s a refresher:

Oops! I did it again, 

I played with your heart, got lost in the game

Oh baby, baby

Oops! You think I’m in love

That I’m sent from above

I’m not that innocent

I don’t even remember why it’s in my head.

My mind flashes back to the Oscars and what’s been touted as Steve Harvey 2k17.

Ok, I just made that up.

In case you live under a rock, the Oscar for best movie was initially awarded to La La Land.

They were fairly deep into the pageantry, as the acceptance speech was already being blubbered, and then something amazing happened.

La la land didn’t actually win.

The award went to Moonlight.

Lots of chaos and confusion amongst Hollywood elite.

The white celebrities were amused.

The black celebrities were vindicated, after being so oppressed these last years.

Having lost best actor and having to be happy for his award winning costar,  Ryan Gosling got quite the chuckle.

And Steve Harvey will sleep well for many nights.

Oops I did it again.

I was thoroughly amused by live TV.

🙂

Leave a Reply

