This morning, I find myself more perplexed than usual.

As I arrive on the train platform, I realize the feng shui of my train towers has been altered.

To the left, my usual 6:18 train has its doors closed.

To my right, the 6:48 train has its doors open.

Except I soon realize the alleged 6:48 is actually the 5:48 due to mechanical problems.

My suspicions are affirmed with the following announcement:

“Ladies and gentlemen this is STILL the 5:48 train out of Hamilton. We’ve had some delays this morning. The moment the brake tests are finished, we will be on our way”

Yes, you go ahead and fix those brakes before leaving.

It’s the courteous thing to do.

I board the alleged 5:48 at 6:11 and wonder what to call it.

Is it the new 6:18, or the alleged 5:48 once removed?

I’m mild annoyed with this change in events because it’s disrupted my chi.

Let’s be clear, the train has done nothing wrong, it’s more the obnoxious lady who keeps articulating that she’s sooooo late for work!

And then continues to swear out loud, towards other passengers, the Customer Service Ambassador and anyone that can hear her.

I’ve managed to ignore her a couple of times, but our eyes lock and then I nod at her and smile.

Lidz on the Go faithful know with that one point of contact, Crabby McCrabberton has awarded herself a place in my blog.
Regardless of what one does for a living, eventually, everyone has work with customers or clients at some point in their lives.

I can’t think of a time when someone was being an unpleasant waste of humanity and that inspired me to work faster and harder on their behalf.

Here’s a tip.

If you’re in a verbally abusive frame of mind, no other customer service provider will advocate for you, either.

It’s the reason you end up with hidden fees on your cell phone bill, and your burger tastes a little funny after you’ve complained about it.

After being irate, your products have been altered, likely not for the better.

And the best part; you’ll never track down the representative who is operating from a call centre in Mumbai, either.

I digress.

Back in Hamilton, I’m about to ask this lady if she’s a surgeon and late for a life altering operation (the only real reason she should be upset) when a new announcement emerges:

“Ladies and gentlemen, this 5:48 train is now your 6:18. We will be leaving shortly.”

Hmm.

I’m pleased with this announcement as it might prompt Dr. Grey to shut her pie hole.

So the 5:48 is now the 6:18 once removed, and the 6:18 is the 6:48 once removed.

Dr. Grey is now joined by a nurse and they  both lament at how the 5:48 never runs on time.

Never?!!

Ever?!!

Just who do these folks think they are?

Some sort of clever commuting bloggers?

Pfft.

If she is a surgeon, she really could afford to buy closer to the city.

Just sayin.

The train leaves and I think of today’s date.

March 16.

Yesterday, March 15 was the ides of March.

What does Ides mean?

Good question.

The Ides was one of three markers used each month which related to the position of the moon.

It’s a special day for me and my Roman ancestry, as it marks the anniversary of the assassination of Julius Caesar.

All the poor man was trying to do was unite the Republic.

He was thanked for his efforts by being stabbed, multiple times, by friends and peers.

Poor Julius.

It’s also seems like a peculiar, reflective date for me.

It’s a day when I’m reminded of multiple memes involving salad with a knife stuck in it on Facebook.

It’s also a time when I perform my annual relationship review.

Made famous by the Shakespearean play, Julis Caesar, “Et tu, Brute?” is now used to express surprise and dismay at the treachery of a supposed friend.

See?

The interwebs can teach us so much if we let it.

I think back to situations where I’ve felt betrayed.

It’s not a good feeling.

It’s actually hard to recover from.

One never completely recovers from treachery.

I think each time treachery occurs, we feel wounded, remove the blade and try to move on.

The problem with being stabbed…it does leave a mark, in the form of a wound that could have varying degrees of recovery.

We get on with our lives, but the markings are still there.

Be careful of how you treat people.

Not everyone is a crash test dummy.

Not everyone is a surgeon either.

Hail Caesar.

One thought on ““Et tu, Brute?”

Leave a Reply

